Book tour & giveaway – The Bulls of War by E.M. Thomas

vbt-tourbanner-thebullsofwar_orig.jpg

The Bulls of War

by E.M. Thomas

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Fantasy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

mediakit-bookcover-thebullsofwar_orig.jpg

 
BLURB:

As clouds of civil war gather over a dying empire, two friends and generals find themselves on opposite sides of the factional divide.  Now, they must sacrifice everything to save themselves from their realm and their realm from itself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:

Ten years, two months and this morning, Kyrus thought, blinking away drops of sweat.   Yet still… still it’s not any easier.
For the thousandth time, his hand slid to a blade’s hilt, body braced against a gust ripping through the sweltering berry thicket.  Wide eyes scanned the crush of steamy greenery all around him, ears hearing only his own short breaths and a heart that pounded like a drum. Even as the wind petered out, his anxiety held firm, held him frozen in place.
Ten bloody years of this… a wonder I’ve any wits left about me at all. He grunted. Or do I have any?
He’d grayed since then, since his first days in Valogar. Wrinkled too.  Bones ached from the constant marching, mind frayed from the perpetual fear of knowing they were out there, somewhere, always itching to add another Rokhish scalp to their belts…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GUEST POST 
 
– Why I write the kinds of books I do

I think it’s really important to write in the genres that one likes to read.  In my case, I generally like two categories: historical fiction and fantasy.  I’ve spent far more time reading those than any other (at least when it comes to fiction – I consume vast amounts of non-fiction too), and in turn, I find them to be the most enjoyable to write.

– Things I Wish I Knew About Being an Author I Didn’t Know Before

The art of outlining and structuring a story prior to beginning to write.  Now I know many authors do not ascribe to the outlining approach; some like to simply write by the seat of their pants and let the story come to them as it comes.  I sympathize with that approach and utilized it myself for an unreleased story of mine.  I found, however, that the amount of time necessary to clean it up on the back end was vastly in excess of what would have been the case had I laid the story out a bit.  Thus, I go by a very structured approach now, in which my outline, character maps, and overall storyboard are dozens of pages long before I put pen to paper on the actual manuscript.  For me, it works well.

– What inspires me the most?

Big stories, big figures, and big stakes.  Those are the primary reasons I’ve also been drawn to historical and fantasy epics in film especially, where the big screens go perfectly with the scale of the story.  As a history buff, there are just so many stories or people to look to for inspiration, be it for writing historical fiction or fantasy.

 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

E.M. Thomas.jpg

E.M. Thomas is the author of two novels – an epic fantasy (The Bulls of War) and a historical fiction set in Ancient Greece (Fortress of the Sun).

E.M. Thomas was born and raised on the East Coast of the United States but is a world traveler at heart. He caught the writing bug early on and has a passion for all good fiction, but especially that of the fantasy and historical variety. One of his favorite moments thus far in his young career was writing a chapter of his latest book about the great battle of Corinth – while sitting amidst the ruins of ancient Corinth.

Find him online:

The Bulls of War will be $0.99 during the tour.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY 

E.M. Thomas will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

Enter to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway

goddess

6 thoughts on “Book tour & giveaway – The Bulls of War by E.M. Thomas

Leave a Reply

