Book tour & giveaway – Glimmer by Rayna Noire

VBT_TourBanner_Glimmer.jpg

Glimmer

by Rayna Noire

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE:  Historical Fantasy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MediaKit_BookCover_Glimmer.jpg

 

BLURB:

For seventeen years, the convent walls kept Meara Cleary from the secret of her own parentage. A bearded stranger claims she’s his niece and promises to take her home. Before he can, a cataclysmic event thrusts her into a war-torn world.

Meara vows to journey to Ireland to find her uncle, unaware of how perilous a journey it will be. Her Druidic father guides her through dreams, explaining her magical heritage. Her dead parent can’t help her with the intricacies of village life, especially when she catches the eye of the very engaged Braeden.

A whirlwind composed of equal parts menace, romance, and revelation sweep Meara across the continent while gathering allies and enemies with equal speed. Her intent to return to her family turns into a fight to survive her own destiny.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:

Her bare feet moved across the smooth stones, recognizing the cracked one, signaling she was close to the turn. Another fifteen feet she’d be in the courtyard. A footstep sounded, freezing her in place. She flattened herself against the wall and held her breath. Whoever it was carried no candle. Only a whisper of a breeze notated the passing.

Her heart raced as she continued to hold her breath, waiting for whoever it was to be far enough away before she dared to release it. The slight clunk of the exterior door closing signaled she could breathe once more. Her breath gusted out in a noisy rush. Still, she waited. Who else had decided to go out for the night? The better question was why.

After counting to one hundred in her head, Meara moved silently, her ears alert for any sounds out of the ordinary. She hadn’t expected someone else to take advantage of a full moon and a summer night, but someone had. Outside in the courtyard, the fountain splashed, and an owl hooted beyond the walls. A tiny skittering sound had her peering at her feet in time to see a tiny rodent scurry by with something in its mouth. The convent cat dropped down from the wall to follow.

Go little mouse, run. Meara found she had more in common with the mouse than she did with the cat. Her bare foot came down on a thorn of some sort. A deep inhale managed to hold in her yelp. Bending slightly, she rubbed her thumb over her foot until she found the offending item. A woman’s laughter drifted over the wall. Meara stood in her half-crouched position, straining her ears.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GUEST POST

Rayna Noire: Things I Wish I Knew About Being an Author I Didn’t Know Before

My mother taught me to read and write at age four. She joked she did it to get some peace and be allowed to go about her tasks without me following her around asking questions. This resulted me in being a major pain in first grade. I read the reader in one day and told all the struggling readers how it ended. This didn’t make me popular with the teacher.

I redeemed myself, at least in my eyes, by writing alternative endings to the deadly dull reader. My classmates had to conquer reading to read my tales. You’d think my teacher would be grateful, but she disliked the action tales filled with bank robbers, train crashes and cowboys.

The first truth I learned at the tender age of six was not everyone will be a fan of my work.

Whenever I had time, I wrote and shared my efforts with classmates. Every one of them had ideas for character names, plot lines, and even settings. Often their suggestions came from popular television shows. This taught me my second lesson everyone will tell you how and what to write, but keep your own voice.

In middle school, I developed a gossipy tabloid, but I switched out the name of students and teachers with animals. Only a few knew who was giraffe or kangaroo. The rest guessed including the teachers who picked up copies of the forbidden newspaper. As hard as it is to believe, I didn’t have access to a printer, which forced me and my friends to hand copy the paper to have several copies. It was never enough, especially with teachers ripping up copies. Third lesson was to have stock on hand.

Be positive. This sounds simple, but not all authors do it. I’ve read rants about other authors, publishers, even politicians on social media. A reader put it in perspective by saying she didn’t want to know what an author didn’t like. She wanted to know what they were working on, influences, and what the writer was currently reading. Not one person wished for a long tale of a woe about a publisher who had done the author wrong.

One pen name only if possible. I have four pen names, which sometimes make it seem like there are large blocks between books. I’m writing four series currently. The pen names are Morgan K Wyatt ( Romance and Romantic Suspense), M K Scott (Cozy Mysteries written with my husband,) Morgan Kay (Romantic Comedies) and Rayna Noire ( Time Travel, Coming of Age, Fantasy)

Write the entire series or trilogy before publishing the first one. I wish I had done this! Things happen from job, family, to a computer crashing that slows down the series.

These are some of the things I wish I knew at the start. Not every author will have the same opinion or experiences. As a reader, what can you tell me? I learn a great deal from the readers. One gentleman asked me to make the chapters shorter, which I have.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

mediakit_authorphoto_glimmer

Rayna Noire is an author and a historian. The desire to uncover the truth behind the original fear of witches led her to the surprising discovery that people believed in magick in some form up to 150 years ago. A world that believed the impossible could happen and often did must have been amazing. With this in mind, Ms. Noire taps into this dimension, shapes it into stories about Pagan families who really aren’t that different from most people. They do go on the occasional adventures and magick happens.

 

www.facebook.com/AuthorRaynaNoire

www.twitter.com/raynanoire

www.raynanoire.weebly.com

Glimmer will be $0.99 during the tour.

Buy Links:

Barnes and Noble

Amazon 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY

Rayna Noire will be awarding a Kindle Fire (US only) or $50 Amazon GC (international) to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

Enter to win a Kindle Fire – a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

goddess

8 thoughts on “Book tour & giveaway – Glimmer by Rayna Noire

    • Morgan Wyatt says:

      I based this on the turn of the century nuns, which have changed a great deal. Worked in Catholic schools most of my life and my college chemistry teacher was a nun. Whenever she asked someone if they had prayed about their career course, it meant that person was flunking.
      Thanks for commenting.

      Rayna

      Like

Leave a Reply

