Book tour & giveaway – Off the Ice by Julie Cross

Off the Ice 

(Juniper Falls #1)

by Julie Cross

Publication Date: February 27, 2017

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Off the Ice Cover.png

Synopsis:

The NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of Whatever Life Throws at You kicks off a brand-new series perfect for fans of Miranda Kennealy and Abbi Glines.

All is fair in love and hockey…

Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business—a hockey bar beside the ice rink—afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.

Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.

It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.

For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

9d17c-goodreads

Purchase Links:

Google Play | BAM | Chapters | Amazon | Indies | B&N| Kobo | TBD | iBooks

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Guest Post

5 Things I Wish I Knew About Being an Author before Becoming an Author

  1. Fighting to keep all 120,000 of draft 1 and winning, might not actually be a win.

A 120,000 word book means editing 120,000 over and over. Unlike Dickens’, most authors aren’t paid by the word so yeah, short book FTW.

  1. I wish I knew how to write a short book.

If I had known how hard it would be to get through all the phases of draft 1 to publication, I would have convinced my earlier writer self that more than 70,000 words means the ending gets cut off or some other crazy lie. The shortest book I’ve written thus far is around 90,000 words (about the length of the first Hunger Games book). I’ve tried to write shorter, I swear I have but no luck. I have YA author friends whose books are sometimes 60,000 or 70,000 words and I stare with envy each time I see those titles on a shelf with their thin little spines.

  1. Practice signing books early.

I have a bookshelf filled with copies of my books that I attempted to sign and messed up the person’s name, and on a couple occasions my own name. Signing books is way harder than it looks.

  1. Practice Patience

The publishing industry, though it can appear fast-moving to the outside world, often runs at snail pace. I remember years ago when waiting a week for something felt slow. Now months go by after sending in a draft and it will feel like a week. Other times I’m back to my early writer self, preoccupied with impending piece of news.

  1. You will never please every reader no matter how hard you work.

It’s so easy to forget that I don’t like every book I read so why would I expect others to? But emotion sometimes clouds logic when a new author sends their first book out into the world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About the author

Julie-Cross_Author-Photo

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).

She’s also the author of the Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, and many more to come!

Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA.
She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres.

Outside of her reading and writing cred, Julie Cross is a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Giveaway 

  • One (1) winner will receive a Kindle Fire

a Rafflecopter giveaway

chapter-by-chapter-blog-tour-button

Leave a Reply

