Blog tour & giveaway – Subversion by Melinda Friesen

 

Subversion (One Bright Future #2)

by Melinda Friesen

Publisher:  Rebelight Publishing

Publication Date:  August 31, 2016

 

Synopsis:

“I surrender my days, my efforts, myself to the OneEarth Bank . . .”

After fleeing slavery, Rielle James burns with the desire to topple OneEarth Bank and end its enslavement of young people as Contracts. When she learns that her friend Nathan has been sold to a logging company where Contracts die or vanish without a trace, she assumes a false identity and becomes a slave again to help him escape.

Her act of subversion uncovers the horrific truth behind the OneEarth Bank’s role in Contract disappearances and its link to a global pandemic.

Can Rielle and Nathan escape and expose the truth before it’s too late?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Purchase Links:

BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | TBD | iBooks

9d17c-goodreads

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Guest Post

Why I write the kinds of books I do

I didn’t set out to write the types of books I do. I didn’t even know I was writing YA for the first three manuscripts. I was just writing the characters who came to me and the movies that played in my head.

However, I’ve always loved geek genres. As a kid, I watched Wonder Woman, Thunder Cats, Buck Rogers, Star Wars, Star Trek and the list goes on. I’m also a bit of an amateur science geek. I love reading theoretical physics non-fiction.

With all these influences, it’s no wonder I gravitate toward sci-fi. I’ve found that being a writer is the most amazing experience. I get to “explore strange new worlds, seek out new life and new civilizations”. With every book, I get to “boldly go where no man (or woman) has gone before”.

For me, every book is a thought experiment. What if . . .

What if a regular teenage girl was sold into slavery?

What if a corporation was given the power to rule our lives?

What if ancient aliens returned to Earth and quietly, slowly invaded?

What if people believed hair actually made them stronger?

What if a family covered up a horrible secret?

I spend thousands of words exploring these ideas and bringing them to life. In a nutshell, I write the types of books I do because I need to know what will happen next. In the case of Enslavement and Subversion, they’re a thought experiment that has resulted in a warning. Pay close attention or we’ll find ourselves living our own dystopia.

TOP TEN LIST:

Things that make me happy

  1. Hot fudge sundaes.
  2. My writer friends. They’re the best.
  3. My kids.
  4. My day job. I’d love to be writing full time, but I’m so thankful so have a job I enjoy.
  5. Almost any Taylor Swift song. My guilty pleasure.
  6. The opening song for the X-Files. I feel all warm inside every time I hear it.
  7. The smell and sound of rain.
  8. Dean Winchester.
  9. My bed. We have an ongoing relationship.
  10. Writing!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES

“One world. One currency. One bright future.”

That’s the promise made by OneEarth Bank after a global economic collapse–but only for those who accept the insertion of a commerce chip.

When Rielle’s parents refuse to comply, government officials tear her family apart. As punishment for her parent’s crimes, Rielle is forced into a Community Service Contract–a legalized form of slavery–and sold to a wealthy, abusive banker.

The Banker’s secrets hold the key to Rielle’s freedom, but will she risk prison or even death to escape and search for her family?

Enslavement.png

 

Buy Links:  Amazon | Barnes & Noble | TBD | IndieBound

4901a-goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About the author

Melinda Friesen.jpg

Melinda Friesen writes novels for teens and short stories. Her contest winning short stories have appeared in various periodical and an anthology. Enslavement, book one in the One Bright Future series, is her first novel.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest

 

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Giveaway

  • Two (2) winners will received a physical copy of Subversion by Melinda Friesen (US/Canada)
  • Five (5) winners will receive a digital copy of Subversion by Melinda Friesen (INT)

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

chapter-by-chapter-blog-tour-button

 

Leave a Reply

