Book tour & giveaway – Harbingers by Ellis Morning

TourBanner_Harbingers.jpg

Harbingers

by Ellis Morning

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE:   Science Fiction/Fantasy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BookCover_Harbingers.jpg

BLURB:

The Quest Continues To Stop A Killer “Curse!”

Dame Jessamine is a knight errant with a spaceship for a steed, a woman of science in a galaxy rife with superstition. Follow along as she continues her mission for truth within the barony of Nidaros!
A mysterious crop-withering blight spreads through the barony’s soil. The court magicians have blamed two siblings of spawning the crisis through witchcraft. Convinced of their innocence, Jessamine has rescued and now secretly harbors Verahl Naustvik aboard her spaceship. Meanwhile, his sister Thordia flees to the Harbinger, a crashed space station from the distant and more enlightened past.

Approaching the Harbinger is an act punishable by death, but Jessamine won’t let that stand in the way of a second rescue. Thordia, and the Harbinger’s surviving technological secrets, may be Nidaros’ only hope against the blight. Jessamine prepares to embark—only to be betrayed and set upon by vengeful court magicians.

Now, one wrong word or gesture will lead to deadly charges of witchcraft. Jessamine must protect the Naustviks and brave the Harbinger, all while striking a balance between ritual and reason. If she can’t maintain the peace long enough to discover a cure for the blight, the entire barony will starve—unless its far-off masters decide to “restore order” with military action first!

Harbingers is Book Two of the Sword and Starship series of science fiction/fantasy adventure.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:

Minutes after I’d fallen asleep—or so it seemed—distant, unsettling noises nagged me from the fringe of consciousness. Crashes of wood on wood, doors opening and closing, agitated voices.

“We have a right to our prisoner!”

“‘Prisoner’ now? Whose word is that, yours or Ormyr’s?”

“Adept Knorr’s blood is on her hands!”

“Then mayhap he shouldn’t have tried to kill her. What do ye want from us, anyway? She’s not here.”

“Impossible! We’re not leaving until we’ve searched everywhere.”

“Captain? Captain!”

The voices became louder and more spiteful with each volley. Then came a series of sharp, desperate taps that were louder still, practically in my ear.

“Sister? Sister!” a hushed voice pleaded.

Sigrid?

I flew up to a seated position and opened my eyes. My hair, loose from its braid, fell around my shoulders. This was still my room in the barracks. Ahead, the door stood closed. Behind, early sunlight peeked through the slats of the shuttered window beside my pallet.

The tapping returned, followed by rattling. Someone outside the window was testing the shutter. “Sister, come out here. Hurry!”

A large object, like a table or chest, crashed to the floor just outside my room.

I gasped. Someone, probably an adept, was tossing the barracks in search of me. And Sigrid was—wait, how the hell had Sigrid broken out of her room? Hadn’t Ingvar locked her in? My own window’s shutter looked sturdy, but not indestructible. She must’ve busted out that way—just like I’d have to if I wanted to escape. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GUEST POST

Ellis Morning: 10 Things That Make Me Happy (In No Particular Order)

  1. Coffee. I have two mugs a day, and switch to iced coffee during the summer. My brain just isn’t the same without it!
  1. Family. My husband and cat are the best supporters I could ever ask for.
  1. Seeing a big project through to completion. Novels are an obvious example. Knitting and cross-stitch projects fall under the same umbrella. There’s a wonderful sense of triumph from knowing you stuck with something in good times and bad, and eventually saw it through.
  1. Sunshine. There’s nothing like a sunny day to make me feel awake and productive. I have a hard time getting my brain in gear when it’s gloomy out.
  1. The Library. I’m constantly borrowing books, both physical and ebook format. Funny enough, I mostly read nonfiction these days! Everything from ancient history to the latest neuroscience.
  1. Mystery Science Theater 3000. I grew up with this show, and I still throw episodes on regularly. It’s funny and comforting at the same time.
  1. Music. My taste is all over the map, from 90s grunge to movie and video game soundtracks. When I write, I stick to music without lyrics. It helps me concentrate better.
  1. Video games. I played Sega Genesis growing up (I can beat all the Sonic games blindfolded), then took to the PC for Tomb Raider, Quake II, and other classics. Nowadays, I’m more into turn-based games like Civilization. (But Skyrim is another big favorite.)
  1. Star Trek. I like The Original Series and The Next Generation best. There was a strong current of optimism in both that seems to be missing from popular fiction nowadays: mankind will get over its barbarism, and technology will solve our worst problems.
  1. Me! As a quasi-Buddhist/Stoic, I hold that happiness depends most upon my own outlook. The outside world may inflict pain on me, but I don’t have to inflict pain on myself. I can control how I react to things.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to leave me questions and comments, or read more at my blog: http://www.ellismorning.com/blog

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Author_Harbingers

Ellis has always loved staging adventures in her head before going to sleep each night. When she was twelve, she started putting these adventures on paper.

For the next twenty years, she wrote with varying degrees of seriousness, but always as a hobby. In that time, she fell in love with Mark Twain and Kurt Vonnegut, the original Star Trek series, and Mystery Science Theater 3000. Science fiction became her favorite domain to work in, but she also enjoyed reading fantasy, horror, Western, and detective stories, and incorporating their elements into her work. One of her favorite things to do was make people laugh.

Ellis denied being a writer for decades. But then she sold articles to The Daily WTF, and a short story to Analog Science Fiction and Fact. After quitting her full-time job to finish her first novel, it was time to own up to writing as her calling. She’s currently an editor at The Daily WTF, and having the time of her life penning novels and short stories.

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+EllisMorning

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/EllisMorning

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7871892.Ellis_Morning

LINKS FOR BUYING THE BOOK:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MZA1BP3

Nook (B&N): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/harbingers-ellis-morning/1125466299?ean=2940157321758

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/harbingers-2

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1194116553

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY 

Ellis Morning will be awarding a $20 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

Enter to win a $20 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway

goddess

18 thoughts on “Book tour & giveaway – Harbingers by Ellis Morning

  1. Happy Monday! Just popping in to say that I’m a Trekkie from way back and like you, the original series and TNG are my favorites. As a matter of fact, I’m currently binge-watching the series on Netflix. Gotta love Netflix, right? I did enjoy what I saw of Enterprise as well. Do you have any other fave sci-fi TV shows? A few of mine are Fringe, Roswell and The X-Files.

    Like

    • Hi, Bea! Ooh, X-Files for sure! And does Mystery Science Theater 3000 count? 🙂 I haven’t seen much of Babylon 5, but I liked what I’ve seen and should really go see more. Doctor Who can be pretty cool sometimes, too; I like the Patrick Troughton era best.

      Like

      • I haven’t watched Babylon 5 or DR. Who although one of my sons and one of my good friends are huge fans. I’m just a little older than you so I grew up with not only Star Trek but shows like Lost In Space, UFO, Battlestar Galactica, and Space 1999…just to name a few. Lol I don’t know if any of these are available to view now anywhere.

        Like

  2. Thanks so much for hosting me, and thanks to everyone reading this post! Please feel free to leave any comments or questions you may have. I plan to stop by later this evening to answer any comments that come in. Thanks again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Bernie! I’m picking up “SPQR” by Mary Beard and “1177 BC” by Eric Cline the next time I go to the library. Ancient Rome and the great Bronze Age collapse, respectively … I’m really looking forward to them both! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

