Blog tour & giveaway – Gate of Air by Resa Nelson

Gate of Air
Resa Nelson
(Dragon Gods, #1)
Publication date: June 19th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis:

Frayka must find and convince the dragon gods of the Far East to appease the gods of her Northland heritage. If she fails, her own Northlander gods will destroy all the mortals who once promised to worship them.

The Far East is a mysterious place of legend to Northlanders like Frayka. Only an old map can show her how to get there. Once she arrives, all of Frayka’s sensibilities put her in danger. And every dangerous turn delays her from finding the dragon gods whose help she so desperately needs.

Although Frayka looks like a Far Easterner, she is a powerful Northlander warrior who is quick to voice her thoughts. She is trained to fight and won’t hesitate to do so.

But everything about Frayka puts her in deadly peril in the Far East, where the laws are strict and the punishment cruel.

Especially when the one being punished is a woman.

Goodreads / Amazon

99¢ for a limited time only!

Guest post

How I Almost Wrote Myself into a Corner – By Resa Nelson

Gate of Air is Book 1 in my new Dragon Gods series, which is the third series in my Dragon Cycle.  This cycle of series tells the story of strong and courageous women and is set in my fantasy version of the Viking/Norse medieval world.  When I began writing Gate of Air, I knew what the main character, Frayka, needed to accomplish in the Dragon Gods series.

I just didn’t know how she was going to do it.

Frayka is a young woman born in the Northlands.  Along with a group of fellow Northlanders, Frayka’s family created a settlement in the otherwise uninhabited Land of Ice.  Frayka thinks of herself as a Northlander even though she doesn’t look like one.  Although her father never met his grandmother, he’s convinced Frayka looks like her.  Instead of being blond and blue-eyed like her fellow Northlanders, Frayka has black hair and eyes.  Her skin is a few shades darker than the fair-skinned Northlanders.  According to the stories her father tells, Frayka knows her great-grandmother was from the Far East, a place of legend to the Northlanders.

Frayka also shares an unusual trait with her late great-grandmother:  she can see the future through her portents.

At the end of series #2 (the Dragonfly series), Frayka’s portents lead her to a mystical realm where she meets the All-Father (aka Odin), the most powerful Northlander god.  He and his fellow gods are enraged because the dragon gods of the Far East have interfered with the Northlands and caused great harm.  Because Frayka is a Northlander who looks like a Far Easterner, the All-Father demands that Frayka find the dragon gods, convince them to make amends, and figure out how to make things right.

In Gate of Air (Book 1), I knew how Frayka would find the Far East.  I also knew how she would find each dragon god.  Because Frayka is a strong-willed woman. I knew she’d be able to convince each dragon god to make amends.

What I didn’t know was exactly what it would take to make amends.

I like to think about a book for years before I write it.  It’s as if I experience the story first and then put it down on paper.  Whenever I don’t have a detail nailed down, things always work out in the end, so I wasn’t worried.

I wrote Book 1.  And then Book 2.  And then Book 3.  I still had no idea how Frayka could solve her problem of making peace between the gods.  By the time I was more than halfway through writing the fourth and final book, I decided I needed to sit down and figure out how to solve Frayka’s problem.

But nothing came to me.  I had no ideas.  And I couldn’t finish the final book in the series unless I came up with a solution.

So I decided to think about details that I had already placed in the first three books.  I realized they were like pieces of a puzzle that told their own story.  The more I thought about these details, the more I understood them.  It took me less than an hour to figure out how Frayka could make peace between the gods, and the answer shocked me.  It was something I’d never intended, but it made perfect sense.

I might have written myself into a corner, but all the work I’d done in these books showed me how to write myself out of that corner.  I think the ending to the series is far better than anything I could have planned in advance.

Book 1 (The Dragonslayer’s Sword) in my first series (the Dragonslayer series) is currently free on Amazon and other sites.  I’m also offering GATE OF AIR for a special introductory price of 99 cents on Amazon for a limited time.

Author Bio:

Resa Nelson is the author of the 4-book Dragonslayer series: The Dragonslayer’s Sword (nominated for the Nebula Award, finalist for the EPPIE Award), The Iron Maiden , The Stone of Darkness , and The Dragon’s Egg . Her 4-book Dragonfly series takes place after the Dragonslayer series.

Her standalone novels include the mystery/thrillers All Of Us Were Sophie and Our Lady of the Absolute .

Resa has been selling short stories professionally since 1988. She is a longtime member of SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America), and she is a graduate of the Clarion SF Workshop. Resa was the TV/Movie Columnist for Realms of Fantasy magazine for 13 years as well as a regular contributor to SCI FI magazine. She has sold over 200 articles to magazines in the United States and the United Kingdom.

Website / Goodreads / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

 

One thought on “Blog tour & giveaway – Gate of Air by Resa Nelson

Leave a Reply

